#8 Mother’s Day

Memories

I realised this morning my mobile calendar was flashing the date May 3 2013. Time flies indeed and I can still see the New Year’s Eve fireworks bursting right in front of my eyes. Anyway, in May there comes Mother’s Day: the day our mothers get a chance to be spoiled – if rest of the families are resilient enough to let her do so – apart from their own birthday. Let me quickly point out a cultural difference here by the way; there is no Mother’s or Father’s Day in Korea, instead they celebrate Parents’ Day.

So a card and bouquet of origami flowers were my first gift made back in the kindies. Our teachers instructed us to write anything we wanted to say to our parents. I didn’t know what to do. Not that I didn’t have anything to say, I didn’t know how to say them…

View original post 347 more words

Leave a Reply

